Jump directly to main content

The Crack Magazine



Navarasa: Nine Emotions (Domino)

This is the third album from the esteemed trio of James Yorkston, Jon Thorne and Suhail Yusuf Khan and it’s a real melting pot of good stuff. Yorkston bring Scottish folk, sangster and literary strands, while Thorne supplies jazzy grooves. The New Delhi-based Khan brings a smorgasbord of pulses and cycles drawn from northern Indian classical, light classical and Sufi devotional music. Involving and rewarding.